hey you, what are you waiting for?

life is too short

Loss is something we all experience at some point. And I’m not talking about losing a kid’s baseball game. I mean true loss, a permanent separation.

I experienced true loss early on, and there’s something about never being able to access something again that is so hard to grasp.

Maybe it’s never being able to have a conversation with a loved one again. Or your favorite restaurant changing their menu so you can no longer have their delicious Mapo Ramen ever again.

Sometimes life feels like loss after loss, and it’s just a continuous cycle of grieving and starting over.

But there’s power in this too: impermanence. It frees us from many expectations and obligations, reminding us that everything changes, and nothing lasts forever. It’s terrifying, yet liberating.

It may sound alarming at first. Or perhaps even a bit hustle culture-y. That’s not my intention. Don't get me wrong, I'm not advocating for a relentless pursuit of productivity.

Grappling with mortality can be so scary that many people scramble around with their heads cut off their whole lives and forget to live at all.

Perhaps sadly, existential dread and human mortality remain unsolved—but I feel it’s critical to tell you that the time is now if there’s something you want to do. 

I mean, not ANYTHING. Within reason and the law 😂 This isn’t legal advice, and we should still respect other people’s autonomy. I shouldn’t have to qualify this advice, but we live in the times we do. 

We can lose ourselves in escapism and doomscrolling, but we have the creeping suspicion we aren’t fulfilled or we’re wasting our potential.

It’s because we’re avoiding reality. And sometimes we have to in order to survive. So if you’re still surviving, survive. But if you already did, it’s time to break free of the patterns that helped you survive. 

But do you boo: even if that is going slow and ignoring the bustle. I’ve been in this state relatively recently. You don’t need to always be on. Life feels like rapids, but it really is a stream—but be careful, you can still drown in a stream. 

It’s a balance. Just like the cycle of grief and repeat. It’s only by coming to terms with this we can be cognizant and escape the cycles.

What’s something you always wanted to do? I promise you can do it. I can’t promise outcomes, but I promise you can do anything. You want to draw? I decided I did. It was shit, but I did it. Literally anything. You might not be a world-famous artist, you might not be an NBA player (I certainly won’t be), but you can DO anything you want. If you want to sing, fucking sing. What are you waiting for? Maybe it was this email ;)))))) tell me your dream yo

not sure how a piece on loss turned into a motivation speech, but whatever. I nike’d this shit

Peace, Lucas